The 2021 Pritzker Architecture Prize Winners: Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal.

Mykonos Cerámica dedicates a new post to the Nobel Prize in architecture. The 2021 Pritzker Prize has just announced the name of its winners this year.

The jury, led by the Chilean architect Alejandro Aravena, wanted to award the French duo Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal.

The French duo were recognized for building and designing with social, economic and environmental sustainability.

The founders of the Lacaton & Vassal law firm have been designing sustainable spaces both in their social, economic and environmental aspects.

His approach respects the goals of the designers and the aspirations of the residents, regardless of the scale of the projects.

They have developed more than 30 works in Europe and West Africa, from private cultural institutions to public spaces, housing and master plans, with most of their outstanding works being social housing and restoration.

One of his most important works is the remodeling of 530 homes in Bordeaux, which won the EU Mies Award in 2019, demonstrating how far his motto of “never demolish” goes.

Lacaton and Vassal affirm that they have never demolished a building to build a new one since they believe that all structures can be reused and improved.

This philosophy and the results of it is what has led them to be the winners of the 2021 Pritzker Prize or arquitecture.